StructureResidential property finance via Commodity Murābaḥa, £100k–£2.5M, max FTV 75%, fixed-rate periods reverting to a variable 'follow-on rate', England and Wales only (min value £150k outside London, £350k within the M25). Eligible applicants are GCC-country residents only — UK residents are excluded. BLME's main brand also offers buy-to-let and holiday-home finance to international clients, again not UK-resident owner-occupied home finance.
A critical scope clarification for UK Muslims: Nomo (the digital brand of Bank of London and The Middle East, PRA/FCA-authorised, FSCS-protected) offers residential property finance, but its own intermediaries criteria restrict it to residents of GCC countries (Bahrain, KSA, Kuwait, Qatar, UAE, Oman) purchasing UK property — UK residents cannot apply. Its structure is Commodity Murābaḥa (tawarruq): the OIC Fiqh Academy ruled organised tawarruq impermissible in 2009, and AAOIFI permits tawarruq only under conditions that exclude the bank (or its agent) selling the commodity on the client's behalf. Listed so UK-based buyers do not wrongly assume Nomo is an option for them.
Provider’s website ↗Contract-grade public documents were read directly (e.g. a full Terms & Conditions or a scholar-reviewed contract). This rates our certainty, not the provider’s compliance.
The five questions
How it answers, at a glance
Which contract
Commodity murabaha / tawarruq“Nomo's residential product uses Commodity Murābaḥa (a metal-commodity chain handled procedurally) rather than a direct property Murābaḥa or Ijārah”
Who holds title
Not disclosed“uses Commodity Murābaḥa (a metal-commodity chain handled procedurally) rather than a direct property Murābaḥa or Ijārah”
How the price or rent is set
Not disclosed“The 'follow-on' variable-rate formula is not publicly disclosed.”
What happens on default
Not publicly documented“early repayment carries no penalty but the deferred profit remains contractually owed plus a settlement fee”
Independent scholarly ruling
No independent ruling found“A March 2025 fatwa is cited as confirming the product's compliance; the full text is not publicly reproduced.”
Note: Only for residents of GCC countries; the text does not describe title or default terms.
See how it compares across the US, UK and CanadaEstablished & regulatory standing
The verifiable facts
Established
BLME founded 2006; Nomo launched July 2021 as BLME's digital banking brand.
Regulatory standing
BLME is authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and PRA (FCA Firm Reference 464292); an FSCS member (eligible deposits protected, combined BLME/Nomo).
Shariah board
Who certifies it
BLME Shariah Supervisory Board: Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Qassar (Chair), Dr. Esam Khalaf Al-Enezi, Dr. Mohammad Al-Barrak. A product fatwa dated March 2025 is referenced on Nomo's Sharia Compliance page.
A named, credentialled board is a real signal — but a provider’s own board certifying its own product is not the same as arm’s-length review. Weigh it alongside the independent commentary below.
Independent scholarly review
What independent scholars have said
A March 2025 fatwa is cited as confirming the product's compliance; the full text is not publicly reproduced.
Independent commentary is weighed, not treated as a final personal ruling. A body that rules one way is one respected voice, not a universal consensus — and rulings can lag changes to a live contract.
How the structure works
The mechanics, in principle
Residential property finance via Commodity Murābaḥa, £100k–£2.5M, max FTV 75%, fixed-rate periods reverting to a variable 'follow-on rate', England and Wales only (min value £150k outside London, £350k within the M25). Eligible applicants are GCC-country residents only — UK residents are excluded. BLME's main brand also offers buy-to-let and holiday-home finance to international clients, again not UK-resident owner-occupied home finance.
This describes the structure in principle — it is not a verdict on the executed contract. Note too that FCA/PRA regulation guarantees consumer protection and solvency oversight, not Shariah-compliance; the checklist below is what tests the fiqh.
From the public documents
How the contract actually works
Read from BLME / Nomo’s own public materials — white papers, product pages, FAQs and fatāwā — not its executed contract, which is generally not published. Where a point is undisclosed, it is said plainly rather than guessed. Sources are listed below.
Nomo's residential product uses Commodity Murābaḥa (a metal-commodity chain handled procedurally) rather than a direct property Murābaḥa or Ijārah, and its intermediaries criteria page explicitly lists only GCC countries as eligible applicant residencies — so for a UK resident this is simply not available. For GCC buyers it is a regulated, FSCS-bank product with a March 2025 fatwa, but the OIC Fiqh Academy ruled organised tawarruq impermissible in 2009, and AAOIFI permits tawarruq only under conditions that exclude the bank (or its agent) selling the commodity on the client's behalf; early repayment carries no penalty but the deferred profit remains contractually owed plus a settlement fee. The 'follow-on' variable-rate formula is not publicly disclosed.
The Six-Pillar test
The questions that decide it
This is the universal lens this site applies to every home-finance contract, anywhere. Read each pillar as a question to put to BLME / Nomo’s executed contract — not its brochure.
- 1
Real ownership
Does the financier genuinely take ownership of the asset — even briefly — and bear a real owner's risk, rather than only ever holding a debt secured against it?
- 2
Risk-sharing
If the asset is destroyed or its value collapses, does the financier share that loss in proportion to its stake, or is the customer left bearing it alone?
- 3
Rent vs interest
In a lease/co-ownership, is the rent benchmarked to a genuine market rent for the property — or is it calibrated to an interest rate (a base-rate + margin) in disguise?
- 4
Default mechanism
On default, does the contract behave like the end of a real lease/partnership — or does it accelerate like a loan, demanding the full outstanding 'principal' plus charges?
- 5
No guaranteed pre-fixed return
Is the financier's return tied to real ownership and risk, or is it a pre-fixed, guaranteed sum that arrives regardless of what happens to the asset?
- 6
Substance over form
Strip away the Arabic labels: does the cashflow, risk, and outcome differ from a conventional loan — or is it the same economics wearing a compliant name (ḥiyal)?
Before you sign
What to ask BLME / Nomo, in writing
Put these to the provider in writing and keep the answers. The reply — not the marketing — is what tells you whether the structure holds.
CRITICAL: confirm you are a GCC-country resident — this product is not available to UK residents.
Is the metal-commodity leg of the tawarruq executed with genuine market counterparties or purely procedural?
What is the 'follow-on rate' formula after the fixed period, and where is it published?
May I see the full Murābaḥa contract and the March 2025 fatwa before signing?
Does the profit-only option create a balloon payment at term end?
The honest gap
What we have not verified
- UK residents: no owner-occupied product is available — confirm directly that none exists.
- The March 2025 fatwa is referenced but not publicly reproduced.
- The follow-on variable-rate formula is not disclosed on the product page.
The reasoning
Why this verdict, and not another
A verdict is only as honest as the reasoning behind it. Here is why BLME / Nomo sits where it does — what keeps it off a clean pass, and what keeps it off an outright avoid.
Not a clean pass because
Not available to UK residents (categorically out of scope here), a Commodity Murābaḥa/tawarruq structure under OIC prohibition, and a fixed-then-variable rate that creates post-fixed-period uncertainty.
Not an outright avoid because
A PRA/FCA-authorised, FSCS-protected bank with a strong SSB and an explicit March 2025 product fatwa — for GCC residents it is a legitimate, regulated option.
Sources
What this read is built on
The verifiable references behind this page — provider documents and independent scholarly resolutions. Read them yourself; do not take our summary on trust.