StructureSirat 'income-generating property finance' covers BTL residential (individual and portfolio), commercial, mixed-use, HMOs, student accommodation, warehouses and retail, using "two modes of Islamic finance, namely Diminishing Musharaka and Commodity Murabaha", depending on the finance required. Under Diminishing Musharaka the customer's deposit is the initial stake, the bank funds the remainder, and the customer pays rent on the bank's share and buys it out over time (or pays rent only, with a lump-sum acquisition at term end); under Commodity Murabaha "The Bank organises all the necessary elements of purchasing and selling commodities to generate liquidity you need to purchase the property". Owner-occupied residential is not offered.
The UK Sirat brand of Habib Bank Zurich Plc (PRA/FCA-authorised, FSCS-protected; the group has operated in the UK since 1974) is a credible Islamic banking window — but it finances buy-to-let and commercial property, not owner-occupied homes, so a buyer seeking a residence cannot use it. External Shariah assurance is provided by IFAAS (Islamic Finance Advisory and Assurance Services), which HBZ says "conducts regular compliance reviews and external Shariah audits", though the individual UK Sirat scholars are not publicly named. Its Commodity Murābaḥa option, where "The Bank organises all the necessary elements of purchasing and selling commodities", reads as organised tawarruq, which the OIC Fiqh Academy ruled impermissible in 2009 (AAOIFI permits tawarruq only under conditions that exclude the bank or its agent selling the commodity on the client's behalf).
Provider’s website ↗Provider white papers, FAQs or fatāwā were read, but the executed contract itself is not public. This rates our certainty, not the provider’s compliance.
The five questions
How it answers, at a glance
Which contract
Mixed“using "two modes of Islamic finance, namely Diminishing Musharaka and Commodity Murabaha", depending on the finance required”
Who holds title
Not disclosed“executed T&Cs are not public, so an investor should request the full agreement and the IFAAS certificate before committing”
How the price or rent is set
Not disclosed“executed T&Cs are not public, so an investor should request the full agreement and the IFAAS certificate before committing”
What happens on default
Not publicly documented“executed T&Cs are not public”
Independent scholarly ruling
No independent ruling found“which "oversees the Shariah compliance of our Sirat banking services and conducts regular compliance reviews and external Shariah audits" (HBZ)”
Note: Buy-to-let and commercial property only, not homes to live in; it uses diminishing mushārakah or commodity murābaḥah depending on the finance.
See how it compares across the US, UK and CanadaEstablished & regulatory standing
The verifiable facts
Established
Habib Bank AG Zurich began UK operations in 1974 as a branch ("We commenced operations in the United Kingdom in 1974 as a branch of Habib Bank AG Zurich"). Habib Bank Zurich Plc was incorporated on 28 January 2014 (Companies House 08864609, first named Habib AG Zurich UK PLC) and took over the UK branch's operations in 2016; it launched Sirat, its Islamic brand, in the UK in 2019.
Regulatory standing
Authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and PRA (FCA Firm Reference 627671); an FSCS member (eligible deposits protected).
Shariah board
Who certifies it
External Shariah adviser IFAAS (Islamic Finance Advisory & Assurance Services; founded 2007, with offices in the UK, France and Bahrain), which "oversees the Shariah compliance of our Sirat banking services and conducts regular compliance reviews and external Shariah audits" (HBZ). Individual UK Sirat scholars are not publicly named.
A named, credentialled board is a real signal — but a provider’s own board certifying its own product is not the same as arm’s-length review. Weigh it alongside the independent commentary below.
Independent scholarly review
What independent scholars have said
IFAAS's "regular compliance reviews and external Shariah audits" provide assurance (HBZ does not say how often), though the absence of publicly named UK scholars limits independent credential verification.
Independent commentary is weighed, not treated as a final personal ruling. A body that rules one way is one respected voice, not a universal consensus — and rulings can lag changes to a live contract.
How the structure works
The mechanics, in principle
Sirat 'income-generating property finance' covers BTL residential (individual and portfolio), commercial, mixed-use, HMOs, student accommodation, warehouses and retail, using "two modes of Islamic finance, namely Diminishing Musharaka and Commodity Murabaha", depending on the finance required. Under Diminishing Musharaka the customer's deposit is the initial stake, the bank funds the remainder, and the customer pays rent on the bank's share and buys it out over time (or pays rent only, with a lump-sum acquisition at term end); under Commodity Murabaha "The Bank organises all the necessary elements of purchasing and selling commodities to generate liquidity you need to purchase the property". Owner-occupied residential is not offered.
This describes the structure in principle — it is not a verdict on the executed contract. Note too that FCA/PRA regulation guarantees consumer protection and solvency oversight, not Shariah-compliance; the checklist below is what tests the fiqh.
From the public documents
How the contract actually works
Read from Habib Bank Zurich (UK) — Sirat’s own public materials — white papers, product pages, FAQs and fatāwā — not its executed contract, which is generally not published. Where a point is undisclosed, it is said plainly rather than guessed. Sources are listed below.
This is a BTL/commercial product, not owner-occupied home finance — so it is out of scope for anyone buying a home to live in. The Sirat product brochure (dated February 2020) is readable and confirms the commercial orientation: finance for commercial and residential buy-to-let property in England, for terms up to five years, at up to 65% (commercial) or 70% (buy-to-let) of the property's value. It describes two separate modes, not one structure: a Diminishing Musharaka co-ownership with rent, or a Commodity Murabaha in which "The Bank organises all the necessary elements of purchasing and selling commodities" — which reads as organised tawarruq, ruled impermissible by the OIC Fiqh Academy in 2009 (AAOIFI permits tawarruq only under conditions that exclude the bank or its agent selling the commodity on the client's behalf). IFAAS external audits add credibility even though individual scholars are unnamed. The bank won Moneynet's 2026 'Best Islamic Banking Provider', indicating market recognition; executed T&Cs are not public, so an investor should request the full agreement and the IFAAS certificate before committing.
The Six-Pillar test
The questions that decide it
This is the universal lens this site applies to every home-finance contract, anywhere. Read each pillar as a question to put to Habib Bank Zurich (UK) — Sirat’s executed contract — not its brochure.
- 1
Real ownership
Does the financier genuinely take ownership of the asset — even briefly — and bear a real owner's risk, rather than only ever holding a debt secured against it?
- 2
Risk-sharing
If the asset is destroyed or its value collapses, does the financier share that loss in proportion to its stake, or is the customer left bearing it alone?
- 3
Rent vs interest
In a lease/co-ownership, is the rent benchmarked to a genuine market rent for the property — or is it calibrated to an interest rate (a base-rate + margin) in disguise?
- 4
Default mechanism
On default, does the contract behave like the end of a real lease/partnership — or does it accelerate like a loan, demanding the full outstanding 'principal' plus charges?
- 5
No guaranteed pre-fixed return
Is the financier's return tied to real ownership and risk, or is it a pre-fixed, guaranteed sum that arrives regardless of what happens to the asset?
- 6
Substance over form
Strip away the Arabic labels: does the cashflow, risk, and outcome differ from a conventional loan — or is it the same economics wearing a compliant name (ḥiyal)?
Before you sign
What to ask Habib Bank Zurich (UK) — Sirat, in writing
Put these to the provider in writing and keep the answers. The reply — not the marketing — is what tells you whether the structure holds.
This is BTL/commercial only — confirm you are NOT intending to live in the property.
What is the explicit Commodity Murābaḥa commodity chain — genuine third-party transactions or procedural?
May I see the IFAAS fatwa certificate for this specific product?
What is the full profit-rate structure and how are variable changes notified?
The 2020 brochure lists property in England only — are Wales or Scotland now covered?
The honest gap
What we have not verified
- Individual UK Sirat scholars are not publicly named (IFAAS advises).
- The Sirat product brochure (February 2020) is a summary; full terms are not public, so they are not independently verifiable.
- Whether the brochure's England-only property location still applies.
The reasoning
Why this verdict, and not another
A verdict is only as honest as the reasoning behind it. Here is why Habib Bank Zurich (UK) — Sirat sits where it does — what keeps it off a clean pass, and what keeps it off an outright avoid.
Not a clean pass because
Not an owner-occupied home-finance product (out of scope for a primary residence), a Commodity Murābaḥa option that reads as organised tawarruq (ruled impermissible by the OIC Fiqh Academy, 2009), and unnamed individual Shariah scholars.
Not an outright avoid because
A PRA/FCA-authorised, FSCS-protected bank with a long UK history, a credible IFAAS external Shariah advisory relationship, award recognition, and a genuine property co-ownership structure rather than a re-papered loan.
Sources
What this read is built on
The verifiable references behind this page — provider documents and independent scholarly resolutions. Read them yourself; do not take our summary on trust.
- HBZ UK — Islamic financing (BTL/commercial)
- HBZ UK — Sirat income-generating property finance
- FCA Register — Habib Bank Zurich Plc (627671)
- IFAAS — about
- HBZ UK — Sirat product brochure (Feb 2020: two modes, England, terms, FTV)
- HBZ UK — About us (UK operations since 1974)
- HBZ UK — About Sirat (IFAAS compliance reviews and external Shariah audits)
- Companies House — Habib Bank Zurich Plc (08864609, incorporated 28 Jan 2014)
- IJMAR — tawarruq rulings: OIC Fiqh Academy Resolution 179 (2009); AAOIFI Standard 30, 4/7 on agency