StructureMurābaḥa facilities to purchase or refinance London residential property only, with a £1,000,000 minimum relationship balance. QIB offers "either profit-only payments or amortisation plans, with fixed or variable profit rates"; the page does not say whether the bank buys the property itself and resells it, or uses a commodity route. Aimed at high-net-worth and GCC clients with London property.
A legitimate PRA/FCA-authorised Islamic bank with a strong SSB (including Sheikh Nizam Yaquby), offering "Shari'a-compliant property financing using Murabaha (cost-plus financing)" for London residential property. QIB's private-banking page does not say whether the bank itself buys and resells the property or uses a commodity (tawarruq) route, so confirm this before signing. It is private banking with a £1,000,000 minimum relationship balance, London-only, so it is not a realistic option for the vast majority of UK Muslims.
Provider’s website ↗Provider white papers, FAQs or fatāwā were read, but the executed contract itself is not public. This rates our certainty, not the provider’s compliance.
The five questions
How it answers, at a glance
Which contract
Murabaha (cost-plus sale)“offering "Shari'a-compliant property financing using Murabaha (cost-plus financing)" for London residential property”
Who holds title
Not disclosed“the executed terms are bespoke and not public. A buyer should review the full Murābaḥa contract with an independent adviser and confirm exactly when the bank takes legal title before resale.”
How the price or rent is set
Not disclosed“QIB offers "either profit-only payments or amortisation plans, with fixed or variable profit rates"”
What happens on default
Not publicly documented“the executed terms are bespoke and not public”
Independent scholarly ruling
No independent ruling found“No public external Shariah audit beyond SSB oversight; product-specific fatāwā are not published.”
Note: Private banking with a £1,000,000 minimum relationship, London only.
See how it compares across the US, UK and CanadaEstablished & regulatory standing
The verifiable facts
Established
Fully authorised as an Islamic bank by the UK FSA in January 2008; a subsidiary of Qatar Islamic Bank QPSC.
Regulatory standing
Authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and PRA (FCA Firm Reference 466577); an FSCS member ("An eligible depositor may claim up to £120,000").
Shariah board
Who certifies it
Independent Shariah Supervisory Board: Sheikh Walid Bin Hadi (Chair), Dr. Mohamad Ahmaine, Sheikh Nizam Yaquby (a globally recognised scholar).
A named, credentialled board is a real signal — but a provider’s own board certifying its own product is not the same as arm’s-length review. Weigh it alongside the independent commentary below.
Independent scholarly review
What independent scholars have said
No public external Shariah audit beyond SSB oversight; product-specific fatāwā are not published.
Independent commentary is weighed, not treated as a final personal ruling. A body that rules one way is one respected voice, not a universal consensus — and rulings can lag changes to a live contract.
How the structure works
The mechanics, in principle
Murābaḥa facilities to purchase or refinance London residential property only, with a £1,000,000 minimum relationship balance. QIB offers "either profit-only payments or amortisation plans, with fixed or variable profit rates"; the page does not say whether the bank buys the property itself and resells it, or uses a commodity route. Aimed at high-net-worth and GCC clients with London property.
This describes the structure in principle — it is not a verdict on the executed contract. Note too that FCA/PRA regulation guarantees consumer protection and solvency oversight, not Shariah-compliance; the checklist below is what tests the fiqh.
From the public documents
How the contract actually works
Read from QIB (UK) Plc — Qatar Islamic Bank UK’s own public materials — white papers, product pages, FAQs and fatāwā — not its executed contract, which is generally not published. Where a point is undisclosed, it is said plainly rather than guessed. Sources are listed below.
QIB's private-banking page describes this only as "Murabaha (cost-plus financing)" and does not say how it is executed. If the bank buys the actual property and on-sells it at a disclosed profit (a direct property Murābaḥa), mainstream scholars across the four madhāhib generally accept it, subject to genuine bank ownership before resale, no pre-agreed buy-back, and profit transparency; if a commodity (tawarruq) leg is used instead, the OIC Fiqh Academy's 2009 ruling against organised tawarruq becomes relevant. The decisive limitation is access: a £1M minimum relationship makes this a private-banking concierge product, not retail home finance, and the executed terms are bespoke and not public. A buyer should review the full Murābaḥa contract with an independent adviser and confirm exactly when the bank takes legal title before resale.
The Six-Pillar test
The questions that decide it
This is the universal lens this site applies to every home-finance contract, anywhere. Read each pillar as a question to put to QIB (UK) Plc — Qatar Islamic Bank UK’s executed contract — not its brochure.
- 1
Real ownership
Does the financier genuinely take ownership of the asset — even briefly — and bear a real owner's risk, rather than only ever holding a debt secured against it?
- 2
Risk-sharing
If the asset is destroyed or its value collapses, does the financier share that loss in proportion to its stake, or is the customer left bearing it alone?
- 3
Rent vs interest
In a lease/co-ownership, is the rent benchmarked to a genuine market rent for the property — or is it calibrated to an interest rate (a base-rate + margin) in disguise?
- 4
Default mechanism
On default, does the contract behave like the end of a real lease/partnership — or does it accelerate like a loan, demanding the full outstanding 'principal' plus charges?
- 5
No guaranteed pre-fixed return
Is the financier's return tied to real ownership and risk, or is it a pre-fixed, guaranteed sum that arrives regardless of what happens to the asset?
- 6
Substance over form
Strip away the Arabic labels: does the cashflow, risk, and outcome differ from a conventional loan — or is it the same economics wearing a compliant name (ḥiyal)?
Before you sign
What to ask QIB (UK) Plc — Qatar Islamic Bank UK, in writing
Put these to the provider in writing and keep the answers. The reply — not the marketing — is what tells you whether the structure holds.
May I review the full executed Murābaḥa contract with an independent Islamic-finance adviser before signing?
Does the bank buy the property itself and resell it to me, or is a commodity (tawarruq) trade used?
Is the profit margin fixed for the entire term regardless of market moves?
At what point does the bank take legal title — before or after the sale to me is executed?
What happens if I sell the property before the deferred payment completes?
Is the product available to non-GCC UK residents, and on what terms?
The honest gap
What we have not verified
- The £1M minimum is confirmed, but exact LTV caps, term ranges and non-GCC eligibility are not public.
- No standard T&Cs or contract templates are public (bespoke private-banking relationship).
- The SSB page publishes no annual Shariah reports or product-specific fatāwā.
- Whether the Murābaḥa is a direct property sale or uses a commodity (tawarruq) leg; QIB's private-banking page says only "Murabaha (cost-plus financing)".
The reasoning
Why this verdict, and not another
A verdict is only as honest as the reasoning behind it. Here is why QIB (UK) Plc — Qatar Islamic Bank UK sits where it does — what keeps it off a clean pass, and what keeps it off an outright avoid.
Not a clean pass because
Effectively inaccessible to ordinary buyers (£1M relationship minimum), London-residential only, with bespoke terms that cannot be scrutinised without direct engagement.
Not an outright avoid because
A legitimate PRA/FCA-authorised Islamic bank with a strong SSB and FSCS deposit protection, offering Murābaḥa (cost-plus) finance — no evidence of a structural problem, though how the Murābaḥa is executed is not stated.
Sources
What this read is built on
The verifiable references behind this page — provider documents and independent scholarly resolutions. Read them yourself; do not take our summary on trust.